Please enter a valid search term.

URISA Leaders Recognized at GIS-Pro 2020

The following press release was published on October 12, 2020, by URISA

Nearly 500 GIS professionals recently convened virtually for GIS-Pro 2020. A number of URISA leaders were recognized for their volunteer service during the conference. We also recognized Exemplary Systems in Government (ESIG) Award winners who were announced in August.

We congratulate and thank all honorees for their amazing contributions to the community!

Leadership Award: Presented to members who have demonstrated exemplary leadership to URISA, creativity, innovation, and dedicated support of URISA programs. The recipient should be a member of URISA for enough years to show a pattern of leadership. Typically the recipient will have been responsible for new programs or activities, or significantly enhanced an existing activity or program, so that it takes URISA in a new direction and/or enhances our standing in the professional community.

  • 2020 Recipient: Thomas Fisher, AICP, GISP (Cuyahoga County - Cleveland, Ohio)

Service Award: Presented to members who have demonstrated faithful service to URISA and participation in its program over a period of several years. This award is for specific service to URISA. It should require a significant number of years of (not necessarily consecutive) service in a number of programs or committees, and a willingness to take on challenges without regard to the potential for recognition.

  • 2020 Recipients: 
    • URISA's Vanguard Cabinet
    • Ashley Hitt, GISP (Connected Nation - Louisville, Kentucky)
    • Bryan Townsend, GISP (York County - York, South Carolina)
    • Matthew Gerike, GISP (Virginia Geographic Information Network - Richmond, Virginia)

Barbara Hirsch Special Service Award: Presented to members or staff who have made special contributions to URISA. This award was created (in 2004) to honor URISA’s former Chief Financial Officer, Barbara Hirsch. Barb made her mark at URISA by being an exceptional professional who would always step forward when a point needed to be made, but never stepped to the front for recognition. It is in the spirit of this dedication that the Board of Directors has created an award for special service to URISA. This award will be given to individuals or committees who have shown a similar consummate level of service to URISA through an ongoing commitment to our success as an organization.

  • 2020 Recipient: Denise Freiberg (retiring URISA Accounting Manager)

Young Professionals of the Year: URISA was also pleased to recognize both Alex Lopez-Rogina, GISP (Madison Utilities - Madison, Alabama) and Christina Brunsvold (California Highway Patrol - Sacramento, California) as URISA's 2020 Young Professionals of the Year in recognition of outstanding contributions as part of URISA's Vanguard Cabinet. The 2019 YP of the Year was Rachel Marquez, GISP.

Review the distinguished history of URISA Award winners here: